Lovyrinths | I/O + Ensemble Genesis


In 2014 I/O and Ensemble Genesis collaborated to create the music-theatre production Lovyrinths, presented in the fascinating hall of the Orgelpark. This performance brought together on the stage jazz, baroque and classical musicians, in a piece about love that is not idealized; love as a kaleidoscope of efforts to complete a gesture; falling in or out of love.


Introduction text by Andriana Minou

“This is a performance about love and its unavoidable falls. Falling in love.
Falling for someone (or something). Falling out of love. Or simply, falling.

We take a peek in this kaleidoscope of deterioration and we see lovers alone, lovers in twos, but also the anonymous mass of lovers. This is where desire meets the dream of “the formula”.
All the lovers are looking for the right ingredients in order to create the perfect love story.
They are exhibitionists who attempt to hide their melancholia behind dark glasses very explicitly, they convince themselves that tonight is the night they’ll be kissed (every night), they pretend they’re patient, they wait, they try to make their beloved wait, they trust, they dream, they erase their egos and replace them with borrowed ones, they try to understand and demand to be understood; all rather dangerous games.

And the more methodically and consciously they try, the harder they fail; the harder they fall.
Their desperate joy pushes them to manipulation in order to achieve the eternal.
They ignore the gravity of time because they want to float in the ether of love forever.
But the only thing which is eternal is the fall itself. And it cannot be manipulated; not even repeated.
Love is always surprising, even in its banality.

Douglas Adams believed that the secret of flying was managing “to miss the ground”.
He must have been in love when he wrote this.”


Thanasis Deligiannis – Composition | Voice
Roelof Pothuis – Scenography
George Dumitriu – Live Electronics | Electric Guitar
Kaja Draksler – Piano | Organ

Ensemble Genesis
Masato Suzuki – Organ | Piano
Yukie Yamaguchi – Violin
Andreas Böhlen – Recorder | Saxophone

External collaborators
Anni Elif Egecioglu – Voice
Andriana Minou – Text | Dramaturgy | Voice


You can see an impression of the performance by clicking here.




About Thanasis Deligiannis

Composer | Sound Designer | Stage Director | Performer
%d bloggers like this: